Learn more about COVID-19 and the vaccine from the Division of Public Health 

Learn about your benefits and resources for Healing & Wellness More Info 

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware Department of
Human Resources


Qualifying Events


Due to the COVID-19 National Emergency benefit eligible employees who had a qualifying event from March 1, 2020 until sixty (60) days after the announced end of the federal COVID-19 National Emergency are able to enroll in the State’s Group Health Plan however notification of the enrollment is not required within 30 days of the qualifying event.

Qualifying events allow you to make a benefit or dependent change to your health, dental or vision election outside of the Annual Benefits Open Enrollment.

Qualifying events include, but may not be limited to:

  • Birth or adoption of a child

  • Marriage/Civil Union

  • Divorce

  • Employment of spouse

  • Involuntary loss of spouse coverage

  • Spouse's employment termination

  • Child now eligible for coverage

  • Death of a spouse or dependent

  • Spouse becomes a State of Delaware employee

If you wish to make a change because of a qualifying event during the plan year, you must:

  • Contact your Human Resources/Benefits Office within 30 days of the event and request the necessary forms;

  • Submit the completed forms and provide required supporting documentation to your Human Resources/Benefits Office within 30 days of the request.

If enrolling a spouse or other dependent for the first time, you will be required to submit a birth certificate (not required for spouses), marriage certificate, social security numbers or other required documentation. Those enrolling a spouse or dependents in their State of Delaware medical plan (Highmark or Aetna) must be sure to review the State’s Spousal and Dependent Coordination of Benefits Policies and submit required spousal and/or dependent forms. This information may be accessed by via the SBO website, selecting your group and clicking the “Spousal and Dependents” tile.

Contact your Human Resources/Benefits Office to remove an ex-spouse immediately following your divorce date. Failure to remove your ex-spouse in a timely manner will result in penalties.


Review additional benefits for qualifying event rules:

View a complete copy of the State's Group Health Insurance Program (GHIP) Eligibility and Enrollment Rules .






+