Delaware Department of
Human Resources

The Hall of Fame of Delaware Women

The Hall of Fame of Delaware Women was established in 1981 to recognize the achievements of outstanding Delaware women and their contributions to communities across the state. The induction ceremony is the oldest annual celebration of its kind commemorating Delaware women. Members represent a variety of professional fields and backgrounds, including artists, athletes, community advocates, military personnel, public servants, and scientists.

Every year, the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame Committee solicits applications from the public. The committee then meets and reviews the applications utilizing the grading rubric . In July the honorees are publicly announced. The induction ceremony typically takes place in the fall and includes a dinner reception followed by an awards program.

The application process for both the 2020 and 2021 cycles is now closed. If you have any questions about the application process, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions. If you need further assistance, please email the Office of Women’s Advancement & Advocacy or call (302) 577-8970.

2020-2021 Hall of Fame of Delaware Women

2020 Honorees and Induction Ceremony

This year, 2020, the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame Committee is partnering with the Delaware Women’s Suffrage Centennial Committee to induct two Delaware women’s suffragists into the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame: the late Margaret Burton White Houston, and the late Mary Seward Phillips Eskridge. The 2020 induction ceremony will take place during the Historical Marker Dedication to women's suffrage in Delaware on September 21, 2020 at 11 A.M. on the East Market Street side of the Sussex County Courthouse in Georgetown. This event is free and open to the public. Read more about the 2020 honorees.

2021 Honorees and Induction Ceremony

The 2021 inductees include Fayetta M. Blake, entrepreneur, and founder and executive director of Pathways to Success, Inc; Marianne Blackburn Drew, first female line Rear Admiral in the Naval Reserve, retired military, and former president of Lord Baltimore Women’s Club and Air Warrior Courage Foundation; Mrs. Ann Jaffe, a retired teacher, Holocaust survivor, and inspirational speaker; The Honorable Valerie Longhurst, Delaware House Majority Leader, executive director of the Police Athletic League of Delaware, and advocate for equality; The Honorable Stephanie T. Bolden, member of the Delaware House of Representatives, founder of Burton-Phelan Memorial Scholarship Program, and senior citizen and foster care activist; and The Honorable Jennifer Cohan, community leader and Secretary of the Delaware Department of Transportation. Read more about the 2021 honorees.

The 2021 inductees will be recognized at the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Thursday, October 14, 2021 at the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino. Event details, including tickets and sponsorships, will be available in the coming months at

To receive notification of event updates, please sign-up.