Governor Markell Announces the 2011 Governor's Team Excellence Award Recipient and Finalists

2011 Recipient DSAAPD Care Transitions Team

Department of Health and Social Services/Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities

Since February 2011, this team reviewed 176 referrals for state long term care facilities and successfully placed 83% of these individuals in more appropriate and desirable long term care options. The work of this team resulted in improved efficiency of operations, cost avoidance, reallocation of existing staff and monetary resources, and improved quality of life of older Delawareans and people with disabilities. For more information on this team visit: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsaapd/index.html.



Pictured with Governor Markell at the Recognition Event for the Care Transitions Team are (L to R): Mary Ann Connell, William Love, Valerie Johnson, Andrea Wozny, Patricia Justice, Marimargaret Fischer, Secretary Rita Landgraf, Jamila Waigwa, and Antoinette Albert. Not pictured is Amy Benjamin, Lisa Bond, Rose Imhof, and Carolyn Mullen.

Award Finalists

I-95 Newark Toll Plaza Highway Speed E-ZPass Lane Project Team

This cross-functional team addressed a long standing operational problem accommodating the high volume of traffic by providing improved flow through the toll plaza with two high-speed E-Zpass lanes. This project reduced the 5-10 mile backups, increased safety, and improved customer services at the plaza, and improved air quality by reducing the length of time vehicles idled while standing in line. For more information on this and other DelDOT project visit http://deldot.gov/information/projects/recovery/pages/tollplaza/index.shtml.

The I-95 Newark Toll Plaza **Highway Speed E-ZPass Land** Project Team pictured at DelDOT's Annual Recognition event. Front Row (L to R) is Donnie Poore, Jim Guinther, Javier Torrijos, Darren O'Neill, Vic Buono, Robert Landry. Back Row (L to R) is Secretary Shailen Bhatt, Jon Osborne, Neil Leary, Brian Riffel, Vernon Lawton, Dave Wesstrom, Bob King, Ken Monroe, and Dan Montag. Team Members Not pictured include Ron Allen, Bud Beauverd, Sam Bostick, Robert Gochneaur, Michael Haddadin, and Valerie Tickle



Individual Assessment and Discharge and Planning (I-ADAPT) Team

This multi-department team improved offender accountability, identified gaps in services, improved availability and access to resources, and created standard processes for documenting individuals entry into and release from the Department of Corrections. Inmates are provided a plan specific to their identified needs so that they have the tools needed to succeed in the community. To date, over 750 inmates have voluntarily agreed to participate in the I-ADAPT program.



The I-ADAPT team pictured with Governor Markell (R to L) is Robert Strong (DOL), Jay Lynch (DHSS), Maureen Whelan (DOE), Kim Brockenbrough (DSHA), Secretary Rita Landgraf, and Karl Hines (DOC).

State Rental Assistance Program Team

Through hard work, dedication, and cooperation, this multi-department team created the State Rental Assistance Program (SRAP) - the first of its kind in the state. This program developed by the team, provides rental assistance to particularly vulnerable populations - people exiting or at risk of admission to state long-term care institutions, youth exiting foster care, and reunited families. In addition to housing services, this program also provides access to necessary supportive services through approved providers and allows them the opportunity to transition to financial self-sufficiency or other affordable housing. As a result of this program, 107 applicants were received for assistance and 41 families and individuals housed since implementation in April 2011.

The State Rental Assistance Program Team consists of employees from the Delaware State Housing Authority and the departments of Health and Social Services and Services for Children, Youth, and Their Families.

State Rental Assistance Program

Team members include: Eddy Ashby, Rodney Brittingham, Joann Bruch, Shenoa Brumbaugh, Devon Degyansky, Debra Doughty, Priscilla Far, Debbie Gottsschalk, Christina Hardin, Matthew Heckles, Carlyle Hooff, Cliffvon Howell, Kevin Kelley, Felicia Kellum, Lottie Lee, Kathi McCoy, Mary Kate McLaughlin, Janet Roper, Patricia Weygandt, Christopher Whaley, and



Pictured in the front row to recognize the efforts of the team are Secretary Rita Landgraf, Secretary Anas Ben-Addi, and Secretary Vivian Rapposelli.