Governor Markell Announces the 2010 Governor's Team Excellence Award Recipient and Finalists

2010 Recipient Superior Court of Delaware New Castle County Mental Health Court Team

New Castle County Superior Court, Department of Health and Social Services/Treatment Access Center, Department of Correction/Office of Probation and Parole, Office of the Public Defender, Delaware Department of Justice, and the University of Delaware.

The Superior Court of Delaware Mental Health Court was chosen as this year's recipient for using an innovative and comprehensive approach toward treatment and supervision of probationers who live with mental illness. Through this team's efforts, the State of Delaware saved almost \$90,000 and identified new treatment, case management and mental health services for participants in the program. More information about Superior Court of Delaware New Castle County Mental Health Court can be found at http://courts.delaware.gov/superior/mental_health.stm.

Team members include The Honorable Jan R. Jurden, project lead, Carmen J. Facciolo, III, Dr. Chrysanthi Leon, Marjorie Swain, Angela White, Shannon Larner, Susan Hearn, Robert G. Hastings, Susan K. McLaughlin, Stefanie Garbatowski, Thomas Beardsley, Daina Gunther, Laurie Pezick, Georgiana Staley, Emily Robinson, Brian J. Bartley, Esq., James Kriner, Esq., Joseph Grubb, Esq., and the Honorable Mark S. Vavala.



Pictured with Governor Markell at the Recognition Event for the Superior Court of Delaware Mental Health Court Team are (L to R) Commissioner Carl C. Danberg (Department of Correction), Secretary Rita Landgraf, (Department of Health and Social Services), Governor Markell, the Honorable Jan R. Jurden, President Judge James T. Vaughn, Jr., and Secretary Vivian Rapposelli (Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families).

Award Finalists

ARRA Implementation Team

This team went from no shovel-ready projects to successfully creating and delivering projects within a very short turn-around time that met strict federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). The leadership did an extraordinary job of coordination by not only quickly assembling a multi-divisional and multi-disciplinary team but involving other agencies and businesses to design and/or construct 48 transportation projects worth over \$140 Million dollars in new or rehabilitated transportation facilities. This project enabled the Department of Transportation to not only achieve its mission of providing safe, efficient, and environmental sensitive transportation network but also supported jobs in the design, construction and materials supply industries. More information on the transportation projects related to the Reinvestment implementation found American Recovery and Act can http://www.deldot.gov/information/projects/recovery/.



The ARRA **Implementation Team** pictured at the recognition event held at DelDOT's Design Resource Center's Winter Workshop (L to R) is Carla Elliott, George Lecates, Jennifer Pinkerton, Natalie Barnhart, Chief **Engineer and Project** Lead, Tom Clements, Daren O'Neill, Adam Weiser, Ray Petrucci, Mark Luszcz, and Mark Tutor. Team Members

not pictured include Shehanz Chaudhri, Paul Farkas, Terry Fulmer, William Gallant, and Jim Hoagland, Jeff Niezgoda, John Sisson, Jiten Soneji, Earle Timpson, and Calvin Weber.

Delaware Tourism Office Team

Team Tourism was formed with existing staff through dedication, innovation, and creativity to generate economic growth in Delaware. This team created the Delaware Sports Commission, the Delaware Geocaching Trails, attracting new visitors to Delaware, the Meetings Coalition to market as a meeting destination, the Group Tour Coalition, the Delaware Wine and Ale Trail, the Cruise Lewes Partnership, and the development of a vibrant social media programs resulting in over \$65 million in economic impact to the State of Delaware. More information on things to do in Delaware can be found at http://www.visitdelaware.com/.

Delaware Tourism
Office Team pictured
with Governor Markell
(RtoL) is Secretary Lavin,
Kate Kreppein, Kathy
Krasulak, Heath Bullock,
Matthew Sparks, C.E.
"Ned" Blair, Tina
Madanat, and Linda
Parkowski, Director and
Project Lead. Not
pictured is Heather
Kenton.



Delaware Lottery Office

This team successfully transitioned the Lottery Office into an effective gaming regulatory agency and implemented table games by the established deadline, garnered trust and confidence of its customers and stakeholders, brought revenues of almost \$21 million to the state within the first five months of implementation, and created jobs for Delawareans.

Delaware Lottery

Delaware Lottery Office team members include: Vernon Kirk, Richard MacDonald, Time Winstead, James Logue, Dan Kelly, Lt. Joseph Huttie, Mary Jane Donnelly, Richard Carretta, Patti DiFlorio, Fred Gushin, Paul Morris, Dan Houghtaling.