Governor Markell Announces the 2009 Recipient and Finalists

2009 Recipient – Tax Amnesty Program Team

Delaware Department of Finance/Division of Revenue and the General Revenue Corporation

The **Tax Amnesty Program Team** was chosen for the successful implementation of a tax amnesty program that created new jobs for Delaware residents, reduced 75% of personal income liabilities, satisfied 25% of business tax liabilities and netted over \$22 million in revenue for the State of Delaware, well exceeding the original \$10 million estimate.



Pictured at the award presentation on February 1, 2010 (front row L to R): Mario Forte (GRC), Jeff Collins, Chuck Arnao, Sharon Savage, Jennifer Law, Tim Drumm, John McKinny, Greg MacCord, Michelle Graham, and Joel Villamor. (Back row L to R): Bill MacLachlan, Barry Jones, James Stewart, Michael Smith, George Shockley, and Angela Moffett-Batty. *Team members not pictured: Sharon Ferrara, Michele Gibson, Cassandra Kacziocha (GRC), and Chad Wilson (GRC),*

Award Finalists

The Division of Professional Regulation Senior Leadership Team - Through its dedication to a high standard of service to the public, the team transformed the organization from an agency based on outdated organizational models and manila folders to one that emphasizes a team approach and an intelligent use of available technology to serve the public. Their work led to the Division's customer satisfaction index of 4.45 on a scale of 1-5 and a reduction in manual verification requests by 50%.



The Division of Professional Regulation Senior Leadership Team at the award presentation on February 2, 2010. Pictured from L to R: Gerald Whisman, David Mangler, Susan Miccio, Secretary of State Jeffery Bullock, Kay Warren (Deputy Director), James Collins (Director), Barbara McCleary (Governor's Team Excellence Award Program), Sam Nickerson, and Gayle MacAfee. *Team member not pictured: David Dryden.*

The Delaware ERP e-Pay Project Team -

As a result of the Governor Markell's Performance Review Initiative, this multi-agency team developed a way to eliminate paper pay advices and reduce costs associated with printing, paper envelopes, delivery, postage, and sorting. This team consisting of members from the Office of Management and Budge/Payroll Human Resource Statewide Technology (PHRST), the Department of Technology and Information (DTI), and the Department of Finance worked together to implement the new payroll system that enables state employees to view their payroll information online 24 hours a day, seven days a week.



Pictured with Governor Markell and Budget Director

Ann Visalli are members of the Delaware ERP e-Pay Project Team. Team members include Meghan Mitchell (Team Leader), Richard Culp, Michelle Davis, Michelle Donohue, Tine Feliciano, Carrie Landsnes, Helene Miller, Alan Nold, Crystal Phillips, Holly Powell, Albert Richetts, Kamlesh Sheth, Ann Stewart, Gayle Trego, Pam Vesterman, Pam Waters, Chard Wright, Shang Yang



Cheryl Wright, Sheng Yang.

The Delaware Teen Driver Task Force - The Delaware Teen Driver Task Force, led by the Delaware Department of Transportation, built a bridge of cooperation to accomplish three initiatives under the motto of "Delaware Does More for Teen Driving". The success of the team includes creating website dedicated to teen drivers which received 202.000 hits in the first three months, creating a teen driver alert program with dissemination of 13,000 reflective "Novice Driver" magnets and stickers, and developing a training program called the Graduated Drivers Licensing Parent Orientation Program (GDL POP), with five programs being conducted statewide in a four months. The Task Force includes representatives from the Department of Vehicles, Transportation/Division of Motor

Department of Safety and Homeland Security/Office of Highway Safety, Delaware State Police, Department of Education, AAA Mid-Atlantic, and the Delmarva Broadcasting's SmartDrive. Teen Driver website: http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver-services/teen/index.shtml.

The Delaware Teen Driver Task Force members include Jennifer Cohan (Team Leader), Rhonda West, Scott Vien, Sherrie Cronshaw, Kevin Moore, Steven LePage, Phillip Winder, Andrea Summers, Tricia Roberts, Joshua Bushweller, Amelia Hodges, Dean Betts, Randy Ramierz, Brian Conlin, Alfonso Jones, David Weaver, Cathy Rossi, Mike Williams, Karen Busby, and Cherisse Taylor.

The Elections e-Signature Project Team - This multiagency team, led by the Commissioner of Elections, consisting of representatives the Department of Transportation(DelDOT)/Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and the Department of Technology and Information (DTI) worked together for a common goal of improving the accuracy of election information and saving resources through the creation of a new statewide, streamlined method of registering and maintaining voter registration for the citizens of Delaware. The new system will result in annual savings of approximately \$487,900 in paper, postage, equipment and transportation costs for the Department of Elections and a savings of \$50,000, for the Division of Motor



Vehicles (DMV). The improvements have provided a customer friendly process with a reduction in customer response time for the elections process and one-stop shopping for DMV customers. This project supports the State's Green Initiative and Delaware is only one of eight states with such a program.

The Elections e-Signature Project Team members include Elaine Manlove (Team Leader), Stan Anderson, Jennifer Cohan, Marti Dobson, Fred Pusey, Samith Musthyala, Rudolph Lobo, Jim Sills, PN Narayanan, Phillip Winder, Vince Tirpak, Tim Darcy, Chris Ramos, James Roe, John Trabaudo, Randy Reynolds, and Michelle Wright.