Governor Minner Announces the 2008 Recipient and Finalists

2008 Recipient - Fox Point State Park - Glenville Project Team

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control & Department of Transportation

The **Fox Point Park-Glenville Project Team** was chosen for the successful partnership between two state agencies and demonstrating teamwork, leadership, ingenuity, outstanding task completion, including expansion of the Fox Point State Park to include public access to the Delaware Rive, flood-mitigation of the Glenville neighborhood, the creation of a new 48-acre wetland habitat, and a \$3 million dollar cost savings to the taxpayers of Delaware.



Pictured with Governor Minner during the award presentation on January 12, 2009 (front row L to R): Terry Fulmer, Diane Bernardo (DelDOT Team Leader), Herb Monslaud, Paul Drake, Ken Dunne (back row L to R): Wayne Rizzo, Thomas McLaughlin, Phillip Gallo, Joseph Kline, Matthew Chesser, DNREC Secretary John A. Hughes, DelDOT Secretary Carolann Wicks, W. Britt Murray, John Cargill (DNREC Team Leader), Stephen Johnson, and Chris Costello. *Team members not pictured: Joy Ford.*

Award Finalists

The Great Expectations Team — Through collaboration between **Family Court** and the **Department of Services for Children**, **Youth and Their Families' Division of Family Services** have broken down barriers and focused on the best outcomes for children, resulting in an increase in the number of children



exiting the system for adoption to 39.5 percent, exceeding the national standard.

The Great Expectations Team at the award presentation on January 8, 2009. Pictured from L to R: Judge Joelle Hitch, Patricia Hearn, Andrea Mills, Judge Robert Coonin, Judge Mardi Pyott, Judge Kenneth Millman, DFS Director Carlyse Giddins, Chief Judge Chandlee Johnson Kuhn, Shirley Roberts, Mike Peyser, Susan Taylor-Walls, DFS Deputy Director Laura Miles, Keith Zirkle, Laura Boxwill, and Judge Barbara Crowell Team members not pictured: Cathy Richards, Carla Benson-Green, and Ione Truesdale.

The Supervision Fees Collection Project Team – Through partnering with other state entities to reengineer collections practices and procedures, the **Administrative Office of the Courts, Office of State**

Court Collections Enforcement was able to increase the amount of pas due fees collected by 71 percent and the number offenders from whom fees were collected by 1800.

The Supervision Fees Collection Project Team at the award presentation on January 23,

2009. Team members include (front row L to R): Bobbie Hines, Nancy Sinex, Erica Roy-Smith, Chuck Aldrich (back row L to R): Jason Smith, Stacy Ricks, Nina Cannata, John Foerster, Sandra Coleman, William DiBartola. *Team members not pictured: Pamella List, Crystal Bennett, Patricia Cake, Robin Jenkins, and Suzanne Wells.*



The Gross Receipts Online Filing System Team – The Department of Finance, Division of Revenue



team created a new online filing system for collection of gross receipt taxes, resulting in 13 percent of gross receipt tax returns being filed electronically in the first six months of implementation.

The Gross Receipts Online Filing System Team at the award presentation, September 2009: Team members include: Kathy Charest, Shirley Deans, Selena Gardner, Michelle Graham, Patty Locklear, Greg MacCord, John Maciejeski, Ray Meyers, Meghan Mitchell, Sharon Poole, Sharon Savage, Irv Schechtman, Dave Williams, Robin Williams, Chuck Arnao, Tim Drumm, Dave Smith, Jim Courtney, Sakthi Vel, Barry Jones.

The Materials & Research Team — Through collaboration between management and a local union to complete a large geotechnical program on a US 301 Project, the Department of Transportation, Division of Transportation Solution, Materials & Research Team, saved the taxpayers \$600,000.

Pictured with Department of Transportation Secretary Carolann Wicks and Maureen Kelley, GeoTechnical Engineer and team leader is Marina Shoun, Soils Lab Technician (center) on June 16, 2009. Team members not pictured: Daryl Baker, Ray Barcus, Paul Bonsignore, Shawn Cook, Walter Dill, Randy Ferguson, Ray Glanden, Jim Kwasnieski, Dave Langton, Billy Leonard, Kelly Salmon and John Thomas.

