The State Employee Benefits Committee (SEBC) and its Subcommittees

<u>Delaware Code Title 29, Subsections 9601-9604</u> outline the "State Employee Benefits Consolidation Act." The State Employee Benefits Committee ("the Committee") oversees the procurement and management of all employee benefits (except for deferred compensation and any other investment or retirement savings plan) including medical, dental, and vision insurance, group life insurance, flexible spending accounts (dependent and healthcare), short and long term disability insurance, and all other future employee benefits.

On January 26, 2023, Governor Carney signed into law <u>Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 29</u>. The law adds 2 additional Committee members. The Committee must include 11 members:

- 1) the Lieutenant Governor
- 2) the Insurance Commissioner
- 3) the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
- 4) the State Treasurer
- 5) the Director of the Office of Management and Budget
- 6) the Controller General
- 7) the Secretary of the Department of Human Resources
- 8) the Secretary of Health and Social Services
- 9) 1 State retiree, appointed by the Governor
- 10) 2 Committee members, 1 appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and 1 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, from one of the following:
 - The President of the Delaware State Education Association
 - the Executive Director of the American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees
 - the President of the Correctional Officers Association of Delaware
 - the President of the Delaware State Troopers Association

Committee members may appoint a designee on their behalf. Of the 2 organizational representatives appointed, 1 must be appointed for a 1-year term, and 1 must be appointed for a 2-year term. Thereafter, all members shall serve 2-year terms. Appointed members may not attend Committee meetings through a designee.

The Director of the Office of Management and Budget and the Secretary of Human Resources co-chair the Committee.

On September 24, 2018, the Committee passed a Resolution to create two advisory boards (i) the Financial Subcommittee; and (ii) the Health Policy & Planning Subcommittee.

The Subcommittees are composed of members of various State agencies as well as elected officials. Members of the Subcommittees are nominated by their respective Committee members and appointed by the Co-Chairs.

The names and contact information for SEBC Financial and Health Policy & Planning Subcommittee members can be found here.

<u>Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 29</u> signed by Governor Carney on January 26, 2023 establishes a Retiree Healthcare Benefits Advisory Subcommittee. The Subcommittee must include the following members:

- 1) the Lieutenant Governor
- 2) the Insurance Commissioner
- 3) the Director of the Office of Management and Budget
- 6) the Secretary of Finance
- 7) the Secretary of the Department of Human Resources
- 8) 1 member of each caucus of the Delaware House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House
- 9) 1 member of each caucus of the Delaware Senate appointed by the President Pro Tempore
- 10) 1 State retiree from each county, appointed by the Governor
- 11) 1 representative of a union of state employees, appointed by the Governor
- 12) 1 representative of a union of state employees, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representative
- 13) 1 representative of a union of state employees, appointed by the President Pro Tempore

The Lt. Governor shall serve as Chair and the members of the majority caucus from the House of Representatives and the Senate shall serve as the co-vice chairs. Appointed members may not attend Subcommittee meetings through a designee.

The names and contact information for Retiree Healthcare Benefits Advisory Subcommittee members can be found <u>here</u>.