

MINUTES FROM THE MEETING OF THE RETIREE HEALTHCARE BENEFITS ADVISORY SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING April 3, 2023

The Retiree Healthcare Benefits Advisory Subcommittee met at 12:00 p.m. on April 3, 2023. The meeting was held virtually and in person at 97 Commerce Way, Suite 201 in Dover.

Subcommittee Members in Attendance:

The Honorable Bethany Hall-Long, Office of the Lt. Governor, Chair

Representative Paul Baumbach, Delaware House of Representatives, Majority Caucus, Co-Vice Chair

Senator Bryan Townsend, Delaware State Senate, Majority Caucus, Co-Vice Chair

Secretary Claire DeMatteis, Department of Human Resources ("DHR")

Director Cerron Cade, Office of Management & Budget ("OMB")

The Honorable Trinidad Navarro, Insurance Commissioner, Department of Insurance ("DOI")

Secretary Rick Geisenberger, Department of Finance ("DOF")

Representative Michael Ramone, Delaware House of Representatives, Minority Caucus

Senator Brian Pettyjohn, Delaware State Senate, Minority Caucus

Mr. Wayne Emsley, State Retiree – New Castle County

Mr. David Craik, State Retiree - Kent County

Ms. Denise Allen, State Retiree – Sussex County

Mr. Jeff Taschner, Executive Director, Delaware State Education Association ("DSEA")

Mr. Michael Begatto, Executive Director, Delaware Public Employees Council 81

Mr. William Oberle, Delaware State Trooper's Association ("DSTA")

Others in Attendance

Director Faith Rentz, SBO, DHR

Deputy Director Leighann Hinkle, SBO, DHR

Ms. Nina Figueroa, Health Policy Advisor, SBO, DHR

Ms. Marie Hartigan, SBO, DHR

Ms. Samantha Mountz, SBO, DHR

Ms. Cherie Dodge Biron, Director, Financial &

Administrative Services, DHR

Mr. Chris Giovannello, Willis Towers Watson ("WTW")

Ms. Jaclyn Iglesias, WTW

Ms. Rebecca Warnken, WTW

Mr. Brian Stitzel, WTW

Mr. Eric Poston, Merative

Mr. Walter Mateja, Merative

Ms. Kristin Short, CoLab Strategies, LLC

Mr. Robert Scoglietti, Deputy Controller

General, OCG

Mr. Keith Warren, Chief of Staff, Office of the Lt. Governor

Mr. Thomas Brackin, Executive Director, Delaware State

Troopers Association ("DSTA")

Ms. Joanna Adams, Pension Administrator, Office of

Pensions ("OPen")

Ms. Stephenie Tatman, Deputy Pension Administrator,

OPen

Mr. Charles Simons, Highmark Delaware

Ms. Wendy Beck, Highmark Delaware

Ms. Jeanie Carson, Highmark Delaware

Ms. Pamela Price, Highmark Delaware

Ms. Katherine Impellizzeri, Aetna

Ms. Leah White, Aetna

Ms. Margaret Tempkin, Cheiron

Mr. Sam Haut, Delaware Live

Ms. Felicita Diaz-Rivera, LegHall

Ms. Christy Wright, LegHall

Mr. Lester Johnson, ARDSP

Ms. Aimee Holthaus, DNREC

Mr. David Kohan, Christina SD

Ms. Taylor Hawk, DSEA

Ms. Karen Peterson, Retired Senator

Mr. Ray Seigfried, Former Representative

Ms. Rebecca Scarborough

Ms. Lynda Hastings

Ms. Rain Tyler

STATE OF DELAWARE STATEWIDE BENEFITS OFFICE

APRIL 03, 2023 - RETIREE HEALTHCARE BENEFITS ADVISORY SUBCOMMITTEE

Ms. Robin Willey
Mr. Roger Jones
Ms. Suzanne Seubert
Mr. Tom MacPherson
Mr. Bob Clarkin
Ms. Mary Graham
Mr. Steve LePage
Mr. Tom Pledgie
Mr. Sam Gaertner
Ms. Pat Sine
Ms. Deborah Schrass

Ms. Becky Breasure Mr. Charles Clark Ms. Joan Burnside Ms. Kathleen Werrell Mr. Rich Phillips Ms. Bobbie Burtch Ms. Denise Schwartz Ms. Nancy Schuman Ms. Diana Noonan Mr. William Young Ms. Elisa Diller Ms. Ginny Rulon Ms. Jean Betley Ms. Linda Waltz Ms. Linda Thompson Ms. Nancy Alteri Mr. Jeff Alteri Ms. Donna Dossett Ms. Lois Finley Ms. Gloria James

Mr. Fred Willey

Ms. Joan DelFattore

Ms. Mary Anne Ebersole

Mr. Russ Larson Ms. Sara Russell Ms. Sherry Long Mr. Dan Maher Mr. Larry Bray Mr. Dale Swan Ms. Nancy Benner Ms. Mariam Muller Mr. William Wright Ms. Ann Marie Johnson Ms. Annette Shine Ms. AnRea MacDonald Ms. Audrey Noble Ms. Barbara Philbin Ms. Becky Evaristo Mr. David Taylor Ms. Deanna Killen Ms. Elaine Mundy Ms. Janet Smith Ms. Janet Cates Ms. Joanne Friend

Mr. John Philips
Ms. Linda Bucher
Ms. Lourieann Wheatle
Ms. Marian Coker
Ms. Mary Darby
Ms. Mary Jane Wilkins
Ms. Natalie McKenny

Ms. Natalie McKenny Ms. Regina Mullen Ms. Sandra Lewis Ms. Shirley Voss Mr. William Mullin

Ms. Carole Mick, SBO, DHR – Recorder, State

Employee Benefits Committee and Subcommittees

CALLED TO ORDER - REPRESENTATIVE PAUL BAUMBACH, CO-VICE CHAIR

Representative Baumbach called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES - REPRESENTATIVE PAUL BAUMBACH, CO-VICE CHAIR

A MOTION was made by Senator Pettyjohn and seconded by Representative Ramone to approve the minutes from the Retiree Healthcare Benefits Advisory Subcommittee meeting on March 27, 2023.

MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

Lieutenant Governor Hall-Long arrived to the meeting.

INDIVIDUAL MEDICARE MARKETPLACE AND MEDICFILL – MS. JACLYN IGLESIAS & MR. CHRIS GIOVANNELLO, WTW Individual Medicare Marketplace

Ms. Iglesias reviewed the components of Medicare Part A, B, C, D and Medicare supplement insurance. Additionally, Ms. Iglesias summarized employer subsidization and how the individual Medicare marketplace works. Ms. Iglesias detailed the employer's role in a group plan versus a Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) and marketplace approach which included considerations for employers in establishing an HRA.

Individual Marketplace vs. Medicfill Cost Comparison

Mr. Giovannello conducted a cost comparison of the individual marketplace versus Medicfill and provided an illustrated comparison of retiree costs in the 10th, 50th, and 90th percentiles.

OTHER POST-EMPLOYEMENT BENEFITS (OPEB) PRESENTATION – SECRETARY RICK GEISENBERGER, DOF

Secretary Geisenberger provided an overview of other post-employment benefits (OPEB) to include OPEB liabilities, pre-funding, funding history, valuation, and estimated growth.

Commissioner Navarro left the meeting.

DISCUSSION BY SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Subcommittee continued discussion on retiree health benefits and the agenda for the next meeting. Mr. Emsley presented Subcommittee members with a draft report of potential options on retiree health benefits.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Members of the public provided comment on Medicare Advantage (MA) especially with concerns over prior authorizations and having to use a network. Several members shared details of articles written on state retiree healthcare and MA plans. A member requested that all meeting materials be publicly available prior to each meeting. Additional concerns from members of the public include comments on OPEB, concerns with data presented by WTW, previous Medicfill contracts, HB75 still containing language on MA, HRA concerns, and having no recommendations to provide comment on at the next meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

A MOTION was made by Mr. Emsley and seconded by Senator Townsend to adjourn the public session at 2:09 P.M. MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

espectfully submitted,	
arole Mick, Executive Secretary, Statewide Benefits Office, Department of Human Resou	rces
ecorder, State Employee Benefits Committee, and Subcommittees	