

# MINUTES FROM THE MEETING OF THE STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COMMITTEE JUNE 20, 2023

The State Employee Benefits Committee (the "Committee") met at 2:00 p.m. on June 20, 2023. The meeting was held virtually and in person at 97 Commerce Way, Suite 201, in Dover.

#### Committee Members in Attendance:

Secretary Claire DeMatteis, Department of Human Resources ("DHR"), SEBC Co-Chair

Director Cerron Cade, Office of Management & Budget ("OMB"), SEBC Co-Chair

Commissioner Trinidad Navarro, Insurance Commissioner, Department of Insurance ("DOI")

Secretary Molly Magarik, Department of Health & Social Services ("DHSS")

Treasurer Colleen Davis, State Treasurer, Office of the State Treasurer "OST"

Chief Justice Collins Seitz, Delaware Supreme Court

Controller General Ruth Ann Miller, Office of the Controller General ("OCG")

Shaun O'Brien, Policy Director, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees ("AFSCME")

Thomas Brackin, Executive Director, Delaware State Troopers Association ("DSTA")

Karen Field Rogers, State Retiree

## Committee Members Not in Attendance:

Lieutenant Governor Bethany Hall-Long, Office of the Lt. Governor

# Others in Attendance

Director Faith Rentz, SBO, DHR

Deputy Director Leighann Hinkle, SBO, DHR

Marie Hartigan, SBO, DHR

Samantha Mountz, SBO, DHR

Adria Martinelli, Deputy Attorney General, Department

of Justice, SEBC Legal Counsel

Heather Johnson, DHR

Chris Giovannello, Willis Towers Watson ("WTW")

Jaclyn Iglesias, WTW

Brian Stitzel, WTW

Ann Ritchhart, WTW

Walter Mateja, Merative

Joanna Adams, Pension Administrator, Office of

Pensions ("OPen")

Michelle Carpenter, HRIS Manager, PHRST, OMB

Robert Scoglietti, Deputy Controller General, OCG

Jeanette Hammon, Sr. Fiscal and Policy Analyst, OMB

Steven Costantino, Director Health Care Reform, DHSS

Steven Costantino, Director ricatin care neromi, Dris.

Ashley Tucker, Deputy State Court Administrator, AOC

Courtney Stewart, Deputy Director, OMB

William Oberle, DSTA

Jeff Taschner, DSEA

Charles Simons, Highmark Delaware

Lisa Mantegna, Highmark Delaware

Pamela Kinley, Highmark Delaware

Nick Moriello, Highmark Delaware

Gerald Walsh, Highmark Delaware

Kenneth Bronke, Highmark Delaware Jeanie Carson, Highmark Delaware

Laura Barker, Highmark Delaware

Dr. Benjamin Edelshain, Highmark Delaware

Dr. Mark Jacobson Highmark Delaware

Pamela Price, Highmark Delaware

Wendy Beck, Highmark Delaware

Julie Caynor, Aetna

William Deal, Aetna

Keaton Gennantonio, Aetna

Jeffrey Kaplan, Aetna

Brooke Nedza, Aetna

Katherine Impellizzeri, Aetna

Nicole Richardson, Aetna

Leah White, Aetna

Carrie Schiavo, Delta Dental

Charlene Hrivnak, CVS Health

Dr. George Schreppler, Chiropractor

James Sojourner, City of Dover

## STATE OF DELAWARE STATEWIDE BENEFITS OFFICE

#### JUNE 20, 2023 - STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COMMITTEE

Naomi Poole, City of Dover Audrey Noble, DOE

Paula Roy, Roy & Associates Retired Senator Karen Peterson

Lynda Hastings Tom Pledgie Sam Haut Debbie Schrass Wanda Pfieffer Barbara Philbin Alexis Poore Barry Townsend

Barry Townsend Bill Mead Chad Carmack Dan Maher

Denise Schwartz Donna Dossett

Elaine Zak Fred Willey Gloria James Pamela Green
John Phillips
Linda Teplica
Marcia Halio
Marsha White
Mary Graham
Michael Stetter
Nancy Schuman
Robert Meade
Roberta Simon
Robin Willey
Roger Jones
Sally Fintel
Sam Gaertner

Wes Sack

Yasmine Chinoy

Stephanie Smith

Carole Mick, SBO, DHR – Recorder, State Employee Benefits Committee and

Subcommittees

## **CALLED TO ORDER – SECRETARY DEMATTEIS, DHR**

Secretary DeMatteis called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES – SECRETARY DEMATTEIS, DHR

A MOTION was made by Shaun O'Brien and seconded by Secretary Magarik to approve the minutes from the June 12, 2023 meeting of the State Employee Benefits Committee.

Abstentions – Thomas Brackin MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

## **DIRECTOR'S REPORT – DIRECTOR FAITH RENTZ, SBO**

Director Rentz reviewed updates to several House and Senate bills that are being monitored by SBO and discussed the status of the July 1, 2023 PrudentRx implementation.

A Committee member stated that they experienced difficulties with the PrudentRx automated phone call and other health plan members may experience difficulties as well. SBO will continue to monitor incoming phones calls and notify the SEBC if any other related calls come into SBO.

A request was made for an update on Flexible Spending Account (FSA) enrollment for the FY24 plan year and the balance of the excess surplus after the one-time plan year contribution was expensed. Director Rentz stated that FSA enrollment did increase and was aligned with estimates. Additional details will be provided at the July SEBC meeting along with enrollment changes in health, dental, and vision plans.

Director Cade and Treasurer Davis arrived to the meeting.

## AETNA CONDITION MANAGEMENT PROGRAM OUTCOMES - JEFF KAPLAN & NICOLE RICHARDSON, AETNA

Jeff Kaplan reviewed Aetna's condition management program called Aetna One Advisor and detailed program engagement and available resources to members. Aetna One Advisor provides a proactive service engagement (PSE) that assesses member risk and supports members with their healthcare. The PSE has 60 different triggers that will prompt Aetna to engage with the member to close that gap in care.

Nicole Richardson summarized the program advocacy performance statistics for Group Health Insurance Plan (GHIP) members against Aetna's book of business. A video was played on the Aetna One Advisor program.

# HIGHMARK DELAWARE CONDITION MANAGEMENT PROGRAM OUTCOMES – NICK MORIELLO, DR. BEN EDELSHAIN, & DR. MARK JACOBSON, HIGHMARK

Nick Moriello, Dr. Ben Edelshain, and Dr. Mark Jacobson presented Highmark's living health strategy and the Custom Care Management Unit (CCMU) program. Highmark's CCMU program manages healthcare cost and trend through personalized member interventions. The CCMU program was built through a strategic collaboration with WTW.

Jaclyn Iglesias, WTW, commented that WTW has a clinical operations team that provides oversight and support to mutual customers with Highmark in the CCMU program. This clinical operations team is separate from the team that supports the SEBC and GHIP.

Dr. Mark Jacobson reviewed statistical data on the GHIP population, data on CCMU program engagement, and trend analysis.

# SPECIAL MEDICFILL PLAN RATES EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024 – BRIAN STITZEL, WTW

Brian Stitzel displayed the January 1, 2024 Medicfill rates which reflect the 5% premium rate increase that was approved by the SEBC at the May 22, 2023 meeting. The SEBC will need to vote on these rates at today's meeting.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

Secretary Magarik informed the Committee that this will be her last meeting as she is stepping down as the DHSS Secretary.

Director Cade left the meeting.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

A member of the public provided comment on a pending Senate Bill and items discussed on today's Agenda.

## APPROVAL OF JANUARY 1, 2024 SPECIAL MEDICFILL PLAN RATES

A MOTION was made by Secretary Magarik and seconded by Chief Justice Seitz to approve the Special Medicfill Plan rates effective January 1, 2024 which reflect the 5% premium rate increase that was approved by the SEBC on May 22, 2023.

MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

A MOTION was made by Secretary Magarik and seconded by Thomas Brackin to adjourn the public session at 3:49 p.m. MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

Respectfully submitted,

Carole Mick, Executive Secretary, Statewide Benefits Office, Department of Human Resources Recorder, State Employee Benefits Committee, and Subcommittees