

MINUTES FROM THE MEETING OF THE STATE EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COMMITTEE MAY 15, 2023

The State Employee Benefits Committee (the "Committee") met at 2:00 p.m. on May 15, 2023. The meeting was held virtually and in person at 97 Commerce Way, Suite 201, in Dover.

Committee Members in Attendance:

Secretary Claire DeMatteis, Department of Human Resources ("DHR"), SEBC Co-Chair Director Cerron Cade, Office of Management & Budget ("OMB"), SEBC Co-Chair Commissioner Trinidad Navarro, Insurance Commissioner, Department of Insurance ("DOI") Lieutenant Governor Bethany Hall-Long, Office of the Lt. Governor Shaun O'Brien, Policy Director, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees ("AFSCME") Thomas Brackin, Executive Director, Delaware State Troopers Association ("DSTA") Chief Justice Collins Seitz, Delaware Supreme Court Karen Field Rogers, State Retiree

Committee Members Not in Attendance:

Secretary Molly Magarik, Department of Health & Social Services ("DHSS") Treasurer Colleen Davis, State Treasurer, Office of the State Treasurer "OST" Controller General Ruth Ann Miller, Office of the Controller General ("OCG")

Others in Attendance

Director Faith Rentz, SBO, DHR Deputy Director Leighann Hinkle, SBO, DHR Nina Figueroa, Health Policy Advisor, SBO, DHR Marie Hartigan, SBO, DHR Aaron Schrader, SBO, DHR Adria Martinelli, Deputy Attorney General, Department of Justice, SEBC Legal Counsel Chris Giovannello, Willis Towers Watson ("WTW") Jaclyn Iglesias, WTW Brian Stitzel, WTW Sean Connelly, WTW Marc Gutstein, WTW Andrea Thatcher, WTW Eric Poston, Merative Walter Mateja, Merative Ashley Tucker, Deputy State Court Administrator, AOC Robert Scoglietti, Deputy Controller General, OCG David Bentz, Deputy Director, DMS, DHSS Jeanette Hammon, Sr. Fiscal and Policy Analyst, OMB Courtney Stewart, Deputy Director, OMB Matthew Rosen, Senior Policy Advisor, OST Steven Costantino, Director Health Care Reform, DHSS Keith Warren, Chief of Staff, Office of the Lt. Governor Joanna Adams, Pension Administrator, Office of Pensions ("OPen") Representative Paul Baumbach, Delaware House of Representatives William Oberle, DSTA Andrea Godfrey, Deputy Director of Budget **Development and Planning, OMB** Daniel Madrid, DOF Lisa Allison, DHR Jennifer Biddle, DHR Rhonda Davis, DSP Norman Jester, DTI Valerie McCarten, LegHall Pamela Price, Highmark Delaware Charles Simons, Highmark Delaware Lisa Mantegna, Highmark Delaware Wendy Beck, Highmark Delaware Kenneth Bronke, Highmark Delaware Jeanie Carson, Highmark Delaware Julie Caynor, Aetna Katherine Impellizzeri, Aetna Leah White, Aetna Carrie Schiavo, Delta Dental

STATE OF DELAWARE STATEWIDE BENEFITS OFFICE

Charlene Hrivnak, CVS Health Victor Gutierrez, CVS Health Mary Kate McLaughlin, BT Law Taylor Hawk, DSEA Christina Bryan, DHA Lynda Hastings Steve LePage Tom Pledgie Sam Haut Debbie Schrass Joan DelFattore Pat Sine Rich Phillips Maureen Keeney Wanda Pfieffer Carole Mick, SBO, DHR – Recorder, State Employee Benefits Committee and Subcommittees

CALLED TO ORDER – SECRETARY DEMATTEIS, DHR

Secretary DeMatteis called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES – SECRETARY DEMATTEIS, DHR

A MOTION was made by Commissioner Navarro and seconded by Mr. O'Brien to approve the minutes from the April 24, 2023 meeting of the State Employee Benefits Committee.

Abstentions – Chief Justice Seitz, Ms. Field Rogers MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT – DIRECTOR FAITH RENTZ, SBO

Director Rentz provided Committee members with an update on Open Enrollment to include the closing date, participation, and benefit changes which will take effect July 1, 2023. Director Rentz summarized agenda items discussed at this morning's combined Financial and Health Policy & Planning Subcommittee meeting along with future dates for SEBC and Subcommittee meetings.

REVIEW OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MODERNIZATION SURVEY RESULTS – MR. SEAN CONNELLY, WTW

Sean Connelly detailed the results from the employee benefits survey and provided key findings and statistical data on benefit changes to test perceived value.

Director Cade arrived to the meeting.

OTHER BUSINESS

No new business was presented.

PUBLIC COMMENT No public comment.

ADJOURNMENT

A MOTION was made by Shaun O'Brien and seconded by Director Cade to adjourn the public session at 3:26 p.m. MOTION ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

Respectfully submitted,

Carole Mick, Executive Secretary, Statewide Benefits Office, Department of Human Resources Recorder, State Employee Benefits Committee, and Subcommittees